It’s that time again! Nominate that awesome clerk for Clerk of the Year!


The criteria for the Clerk of the Year nomination include:

  • Nominees must be an Active member of WMCA (as defined in WMCA’s Bylaws).
  • In good standing (fully paid dues) for the preceding five consecutive years.
  • Anyone can make the nomination (elected official, supervisor, colleague, co-worker)
  • Members currently holding the office of President, President-Elect, Vice President, and Immediate Past President are not eligible for nomination.

The nominee must have made significant contributions or performed outstanding service to WMCA, to the profession of municipal clerk, and to his/her individual municipality in the following areas:

  • Leadership, organization, administration and communications.
  • Legislative and governing body procedures, records management, and public relations.
  • Outstanding service to WMCA, commitment to professional development and contribution to the clerk profession (time/length of service, service on WMCA committees, attendance at State conferences, attendance at other WMCA sanctioned training events, involvement in regional groups and/or IIMC committees).
  • Special projects, community activities, and volunteerism.

Nominations should be submitted in a confidential manner and in collaboration with the nominee’s elected officials, appointed officials, supervisor, or colleagues by including letter(s) of support.


The only WMCA members not eligible to be considered for nomination are those holding the office of President, President-Elect, Vice President and Past President. Don’t let this opportunity to recognize one of your peers pass you by!


Completed nominations forms must be received or postmarked by Monday, January 17, 2020. Please send your completed nomination packets via mail or email:


Return Completed Nomination Form to:  Awards Committee Chair, Virginia Olsen at


The WMCA President selects the Clerk of the Year. The person who nominated the Clerk of the Year will be notified to determine how the recipients jurisdiction, as well as family/guest(s), will be provided the necessary information should they wish to attend the annual banquet.


Nomination Form 


© Washington Municipal Clerks Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software