Log in



1990 - Beverly Garvey, Prosser

1991 - Marie Jensen, Kent

1992 Robin Wohlheuter, Auburn

1993 - Marie O’Connell, Bellevue

1994 - Doris Schaible, Redmond

1995 - Mable Knowles, Waterville

1996 - Margery Price, Kennewick

1997 - Linda Alvar, Lynnwood

1998 - Linda Ruehle, Issaquah

1999 - Diane Underwood, Cashmere

2000 - Pam Olsen, Brewster

2001 - Roland Signett, Ferndale

2002 - Kelly Hennessey, Mill Creek

2003 - Agnes Bennick, Yelm

2004 - Doris Sorum, Tacoma

2005 - Sharon Mattioli, Shoreline

2006 - Cindy Aldous, Marcus

2007 - Terri Pfister, Spokane

2008 - Virginia Olsen, Mountlake Terrace

2009 - Cheryl Proffitt-Schmidt, North Bend

2010 - Pam Kolacy, Port Townsend

2011 - Margo Tackett, Westport

2012 - Ali Spietz, Mercer Island

2013 - Alice Bush, Lakewood

2014 - Carol Etgen, Fife

2015 - Dee Roberts, South Bend

2016 - Mari Ripp, Woodland

2017- Diana Quinn. Algona

2018- Christy O'Flaherty, Tukwila

2019- Deborah Estrada, Mercer Island

Nomination Criteria

The criteria for the Clerk of the Year nomination include:

    • Nominees must be an Active member of WMCA (as defined in WMCA’s Bylaws).
    • In good standing (fully paid dues) for the preceding five consecutive years.
    • Anyone can make the nomination (elected official, supervisor, colleague, co-worker)
    • Members currently holding the office of President, President-Elect, Vice President, and Immediate Past President are not eligible for nomination.

The nominee must have made significant contributions or performed outstanding service to WMCA, to the profession of municipal clerk, and to his/her individual municipality in the following areas:

    • Leadership, organization, administration and communications.
    • Legislative and governing body procedures, records management, and public relations.
    • Outstanding service to WMCA, commitment to professional development and contribution to the clerk profession (time/length of service, service on WMCA committees, attendance at State conferences, attendance at other WMCA sanctioned training events, involvement in regional groups and/or IIMC committees).
    • Special projects, community activities, and volunteerism.

Nominations should be submitted in a confidential manner and in collaboration with the nominee’s elected officials, appointed officials, supervisor, or colleagues by including letter(s) of support.

The only WMCA members not eligible to be considered for nomination are those holding the office of President, President-Elect, Vice President and Past President. Don’t let this opportunity to recognize one of your peers pass you by!

Completed nominations forms must be received or postmarked by Monday, January 17, 2020.

Please send your completed nomination packets via mail or email:

Awards Committee Chair, Virginia Olsen at volsen@ci.mlt.wa.us


The WMCA President selects the Clerk of the Year. The person who nominated the Clerk of the Year will be notified to determine how the recipients jurisdiction, as well as family/guest(s), will be provided the necessary information should they wish to attend the annual banquet.


Nomination Form 

© Washington Municipal Clerks Association

Log in

Log in to enjoy all WMCA member benefits.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software